Soooo, where were we? Well, it would appear that I’ve become the online goto woman for headlice related information – which is nice and I suppose fair, given my *ahem* previous condition. I have to thank the very lovely people at Hedrin who contacted me after that post and offered me a free trial of their new product – Hedrin Once – they claimed that it kills the lice AND the eggs by smothering them. And by jiminy it works! If you’ve got thick or long hair bear in mind that although this is a 15 minute treatment, don’t do it before heading out – rinsing it out takes a while. Nit free locks? Because you’re worth it…

Now I’m not saying that Interflora planned its entire blogger outreach campaign around me, but it was our wedding anniversary this week and the very next day I received the most gorgeous bouquet of flowers. All oranges, lime greens and creams – my favourite colour combinations. The best thing from my perspective is that they come from a good local florist and are delivered direct, rather than packaged up and stashed in a white van for the whole day before the driver can be bothered to drop them off. A really good example of a simple campaign, perfectly executed. Thank you Interflora.

It’s 11+ season here in Buckinghamshire where the grammar school system is still very much in effect. My eldest is currently in year 4 but we’re already staring down the barrel of the ‘next step’ and piling up the pennies in our bean can to pay for tuition fees. So when Trotman Publishing offered to send me some samples of Peter Williams brand new series of books – Practise & Pass 11+ AND to host a giveaway of a complete set of nine books, I couldn’t say no. Covering the four key 11+ subjects: verbal reasoning, non-verbal reasoning, maths and English, the series is split into three levels: Discover, Develop and Practice. To enter the giveaway, simply leave a comment below stating why you’d like the books.

I’m still grinning after being sent the Jamie Oliver knife set to review last month and happily have now been given the chance to share some Jamie love. His range of kitchenware is doing really well and it’s not hard to see why. It’s well priced, well made and does the job well – what more do you need? I’ve been using the vegetable peeler this week, and even went mad today and used one of the interchangeable heads to julienne a cucumber – I know, crazy! I’ve got three items to give away that the rather gorgeous English Mum has been reviewing over at her place; a Coarse Grater which is apparently super-sharp, a Twist ‘N’ Slide Apple Corer – ideal for sorting out all those mountain of cooking apples, and a Garlic Slice ‘n’ Press. To enter the giveaway, just leave a comment below stating which one you’d like and why.

I think we’re done. Still didn’t get my Land Rover, or a new tumble dryer or oven but I live in hope πŸ˜‰

P.S You can also enter by email. AND it’s perfectly acceptable to request to be in the draw for all of the prizes πŸ™‚

Good luck with the giveaways. Ts&Cs below.

* The 11+ competition is open to UK residents only (sorry!)
* The Jamie Oliver giveaway is open to all seeing as it’s me doing the posting
* The winner will be drawn randomly, using names in a bucket, because that’s as hi-tech as I get
* Entry closes at midnight on Friday 22nd October and the winners will be informed asap
* If winners do not respond to requests for postal addresses within 5 days, a redraw will take place
* There are no refunds, replacements or alternative offerings available
* I think that’s all – Good luck!

Giveaway and Reviews. Lately we’re loving education, no nits, Jamie Oliver & blooms
Tagged on:                         

22 thoughts on “Giveaway and Reviews. Lately we’re loving education, no nits, Jamie Oliver & blooms

  • October 15, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Ooooh what a lovely load of giveaways – I’d love to go in the draw for the coarse grater please.

    Although as I noticed some “scratching” on the way to school this morning – tonights nit-combing may result in an additional request for leftover Hedrin!!


  • October 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Coarse grater? You called? πŸ™‚

  • October 16, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    11+ books may come in handy in future years, maybe I can find out where I went wrong! Thank you so much for the Ben and Holly DVD, it has arrived and is appreciated.

  • October 16, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Those flowers are gorgeous- Happy Anniversary, if chosen, I would love the Garlic Slice ‘n’ Press please, sick of trying to crush it with the back of a knife, it never works.

  • October 16, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Only 3 Jamie Oliver items? but there are four pictures.

    I really want the garlic press, the apple corer and the peelers that you pictures but didn’t list. Pleaaasssee.

  • October 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I’ve always wanted my very own Jamie Oliver Apple Corer to go with my Rick Stein Pestle and Mortar from Padstow and my Anthony Worral Thompson….

    No, I’m only kidding about AWT.

  • October 17, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Ooooh I would love the garlic gadget as I am about to give up on ever finding my Edward Cullen!

    And my hubby is sick of biting into big junks cause I couldn’t be arsed to chase the clove around the chopping board with a sharp knife!

  • October 17, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I’ve got a set of James Martin Flattened Vowels. πŸ˜€

  • October 17, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    lol at the head lice, your USP is standing to you!! Jen

  • October 17, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Fab. I neeeeeeed the apple corer. My trees are prolific this year and my hands are tired. I peeled, cored and pulped all afternoon today and made only the smallest dent in the crop. Take pity on me do and send the corer my way or my family will starve because my hands will no longer work. Ta. x

  • October 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    All of the above! About to re-mortgage the house to cover the cost of the 11+ extra tuition fees so if we can cut back and make a ‘damn good go of it’ at home then YES, PLEASE ENTER ME INTO THE DRAW!

  • October 17, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I’ll go into the draw for the apple corer pretty please πŸ˜€

    PS. The pictures of your flowers aren’t working πŸ™ but it might be my computer- Im sure they are beautiful x

  • October 18, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Coarse grater please and thank you! Should be great for making boxty!

  • October 19, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Sweetie you don’t want a Land Rover, they’ve just had to give us a free one after the last one kept breaking down….

    Um that said I’d love the garlic thing, you know this household, never knowingly under garlicked… i mean there might be vampires or something out there

  • October 20, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Oh mah, that coarse grater looks a treat. All I can think of is grating chocolate for on top of an even more chocolatey cake. Or cheese. Mountains of it. Separately naturally πŸ™‚

    Flowers look so purdy!

  • October 21, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Well, as you know, I am feeling very useless at home right now, but I am trying to cook more…./ so I NEED that stuff to help prove I am a whizz in the kitchen … plleeeaaseeeeeeee I need to make s crummy stuff for Matej and the ever tired Mrs M x

  • October 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    I’d love the garlic slice and press. I have yet to find a garlic tool that leaves me with fresh smelling hands and no injuries. This sounds like a great little gadget and will go well next to my Jamie mezzaluna and my mug.

    Thankyou for the giveaway.

  • October 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    All of the above would be great. Will trial the 11 books for you (well if I can get daughter to do them!!!!). Pre school is trying to find an apple corer that we can all use. Anything that can help me slice garlic and not my fingers would be fab.
    Thank you.

  • October 22, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Any of the above would be most welcome in my little life; infact anything would be most welcome. xxx

  • October 22, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Please enter me into the 11plus tuition draw as Ben has just been through the process and I feel next time more effort is required on my part. So please can I have some help to try and get it right this time…. Thankyou xx

  • October 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks to everyone who entered! All the winner’s names have been posted on the facebook page. If you’ve won please let me know your address asap and I’ll get your prize to you πŸ™‚

  • October 25, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    What a lucky lady you are – you must know Kateab (who’s middle name is lucky, I’m sure!). Happy Anniversary, lovely flowers and nice touch by Interflora. I love Jamie Oliver, my kitchen has never been the same since ‘Ministry of Food’ – mostly because my other half spends more time in it than me now :o)

    I would love the garlic slice and press if ‘I’m so lucky’ because after years of practice, I still can’t smash and slice like Jamie with a large knife.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *